Back to the Books

Placeholder Image“You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me” – C. S. Lewis

After a reading numerous books on a recent holiday with my family I realised just how much I’ve missed getting lost in a good book! Due to the pressures of working life I don’t read as much as I would like to and I’m definitely one to over-estimate the time it will take to read a book. Being away with nothing but the sun and sand to keep me busy made me realise how I need to get back to the books, especially with the number of fantastic titles currently on my bookshelves.

As a child I was an incredibly keen reader, always sneaking my current read and a torch under my pillow at bedtime so I could continue reading into the night. It was my childhood love of reading, and the fact I regularly read into the early hours of the morning to finish a good book, that inspired the title to my blog – The Midnight Reader.

I’ve decided to start a blog as a way of encouraging me to read more and as a means of being able to recommend the books I’ve read and enjoyed to others who share my love of reading.

I’ll be back soon with reviews of the following of my holiday reads:

  • The Other Child – Lucy Atkins
  • The Ice Twins – S.K. Tremayne
  • How I Lost You – Jenny Blackhurst
  • Behind Closed Doors – B.A. Paris
  • While My Eyes Were Closed – Linda Green
  • The Missing – C.L. Taylor
  • Beneath the Surface – Heidi Perks
  • The Cry – Helen Fitzgerald
  • Elizabeth is Missing – Emma Healey
  • The Girl with No Past – Kathryn Croft
  • The Girl in the Ice – Robert Bryndza
  • The Litigators – John Grisham
  • Look Behind You – Sibel Hodge
  • No Longer Safe – A.J. Waines
  • The Marble Collector – Cecelia Ahern
  • Between You and Me – Lisa Hall

To anyone who reads this, please let me know any recent reads you would recommend. As you may see from the above I’m a sucker for a good psychological thriller!

The Midnight Reader xo 

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.